Authentic Happiness 2

Nataly Komissarova
3 min readNov 22, 2023

--

I’m thrilled to share that I’ve reached the portion of the book where Dr. Seligman divulges his pearls of wisdom on achieving a state of deep, enduring fulfillment.

And the first thing is helping other people and being less self oriented. Empathy, kindness, and selflessness are the foundations of a fulfilling life. These qualities allow us to create a positive impact on others, and in turn, enrich our own lives. It’s not about material gain or recognition, but rather about being present, connecting with others, and contributing to a larger cause. Just support your friend when they feel devastated. Make more time for visits with your grandparents or parents and spend quality time with them. You may not think it matters, but it makes all the difference to them. If you know English, help others learn it. Your can make a life-changing impact! This idea just made something shift inside me. Be sincere, and do it for the right reasons – not for money or personal gain, but because you genuinely care about others.

I’m opening up about some realizations I’ve had recently. Journaling has really helped me reflect and gain clarity. The past two months have been rough – I felt lost and unsure of my future. I was too ambitious, focused solely on success, and it impacted my relationships and my mental health. I hit a breaking point when I realized my current path wasn’t working. In my ambition, I was blind to the cost of neglecting my relationships and wellbeing. I became isolated, prioritizing my own advancement at the expense of my loved ones. I even remember the moment when I realized it was not normal for me.

As I child my family and I used to spend evenings at the table having conversations with each other about everything. And about a month ago I was sitting with my dearest people for about 15 minutes and I started worried about ‘wasting’ time not being productive or learning something new. That’s when it hit me – I had lost sight of the value of spending time with the people I cherish. I realized my mindset had become skewed, and I needed to shift my priorities back to what truly matters: meaningful connections with the people in my life. It was a wake up call for me. How could I even think that sitting with the closest, the best people in the entire world could be useless.

I had a revelation: I needed to readjust my priorities. I started prioritizing relationships over productivity and learning. It’s funny – the more I invested in people and memories, the more productive and inspired I became. That’s when I realized that happiness doesn’t come from success and knowledge alone – it comes from meaningful connections and experiences. It’s a simple truth, but easily forgotten: relationships and memories matter more than money and education. They give your life purpose, joy, and energy.

Today’s post seems to be more focused on my personal journey rather than the book itself, but the author’s message resonates with me. It’s almost like the universe is sending me signs that I need to shift my perspective and embrace my unique path. I’m grateful to lots of things right now. I stopped following someone else’s dreams because I have my own life, and it is absolutely beautiful and worth living in my own way.

P.S. I decided to share with you a really cool assignment you can try. I haven’t done it yet, but I’m planning to one day.

--

--